CCGs in Sefton shortlisted for the 2022 HSJ Patient Safety Awards

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

NHS South Sefton Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) and NHS Southport and Formby CCG are delighted to announce that its medicines management team has been shortlisted for the Improving Safety in Medicines Management Award at this year’s HSJ Patient Safety Awards, recognising their outstanding contribution to healthcare. 

Following two of the toughest years in the health and social care sector, the CCGs in Sefton continue to champion patient safety amidst challenges that the health and social care sector is facing. 

The CCGs have been shortlisted despite the tough competition from hundreds of applicants. The medicines management team has been selected based on their ambition, visionary spirit and the demonstrable positive impact that their work has had on patient and staff experiences within the health and social care sector.

The ‘delivery of medicines optimisation to improve patient safety’ work that the medicines management team have been doing over the last few years has seen significant improvements in people's care and safety being achieved. This has been done through various projects designed by the team such as a stoma prescription pilot, a medicines management hub, offering more care home support and through its Care at the Chemist scheme. Work that has been replicated in other areas due to its success.

The integrated team consists of clinical pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, dedicated administrative and business intelligence support which enables all medicines optimisation work across Sefton to be led and delivered in a co-ordinated and efficient way.

Susanne Lynch MBE, head of medicines management at the CCGs in Sefton, said: “We are thrilled to have been shortlisted for the Improving Safety in Medicines Management Award, shining a light on the collaborative efforts and dedication of our staff members over the last 12 months to successfully implement improved patient safety through various projects.

We are committed to delivering improved outcomes for our patients, and to be chosen among the other incredible nominees is a wonderful achievement.”

The judging panel is made up of a diverse range of highly influential and respected figures within the healthcare community including:

  • Victoria Jones, Consultant Paediatrician and Deputy Medical Director Patient Safety and Learning, North Middlesex University Hospital
  • Neal Jones, Director of Patient Safety, Liverpool University Hospitals FT
  • Nishaal Abraham, Head of Patient Safety and Complaints, Cambridgeshire and Peterborough FT
  • Dr Hester Wain, Head of Patient Safety Policy, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Mark Axcell, Interim CEO Designate and Interim Accountable Officer, Black Country Integrated Care System and Black Country and West Birmingham CCG
  • Arlene Wellman MBE, Group Chief Nursing Officer, St George's, Epsom and St Helier University Hospitals Trust

The full list of finalists for the 2022 HSJ Patient Safety Awards can be found on

Winners will be selected ahead of the ceremony, which will take place as part of the Patient Safety Congress and Awards in Manchester in September 2022.